2s clinch promotion!

by Ian Burrows 0 Comments

Having lost the toss, Andover swiftly put us in to bat first. Looking at
the pitch it was easy to see why. Once underway the pitch played reasonably
well apart from a considerable number of deliveries that kept very low.
Dave Surridge and Chris Hillier found runs hard to come by before Chris
succumbed in the 4th over to another delivery that didn’t bounce. Derek and
Dave made steady progress helped by an excessive number of wides and byes.
Dave was eventually caught for 17 with the score on 57. Will Lawless and
Dave Allen were the next victims of the variable bounce, both out for 0.
Next up Shiv Banerjee who made a spirited 23 before getting bowled when
going for the big one! Next followed a season debut for Malcolm Phillips
who made 36 not out which included quite a few 1s and 2s! Derek was
eventually out for 44 in the 41st over. A brief cameo saw Lee Fitzpatrick
run out for 1 followed by a faultless 0 not out for Ludo Kowalewski! Travs
168-7 including 41 extras.

Lee Fitzpatrick and Chris Hillier opened the bowling with wickets falling
in the 7th, 8th, 10th and 14th overs. The score after 14 overs was 36-4 and
the remaining Andover batsmen were looking very nervous. Chris eventually
bowled out to end with a fabulous five-for (10-4-17-5). Lee ended with a
very respectable 7-2-24-1. Will Lawless replaced Lee and was in the wickets
in his first over. Wickets continued to fall as Ludo took an excellent
stumping to dismiss the Andover skipper for 1 run off Steve Noton’s
bowling. A decent 9th wicket stand saw the score get close to 100 with the
batsmen looking set. With Shiv Banerjee (3-0-11-0) bowling tight from 1 end
the 9th wicket was eventually taken by Will. The remaining batsmen failed
to offer much resistance and Andover were eventually all out for 108. Will
finished with figures of 9.5-0-35-3.

Excellent win for Travellers II.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.